Sloes aka blackthorn

Sloe Gin – What is it and how can I make my own?

You might have heard of sloe gin before, but what exactly is it and how is it different from regular gin?

Sloes are a type of fruit, part of the same family as cherries and plums and Sloe Gin is made by infusing gin with ripe sloes and usually adding sugar to the mix. This is then left to mature over several months and then strained off, leaving you with a tasty, sweet and fruity liqueur. The alcohol content varies between 15-30% ABV but EU regulations state that to be called Sloe Gin, it must have a minimum of 25% ABV.

There are a number of fantastic sloe gins available, including 6 O’clock Sloe Gin, Sipsmith Sloe Gin, Elephant Sloe Gin and Hayman’s Sloe Gin however, it’s really easy to make your own at home, especially if you have access to fresh sloes.

Here, ILoveGin explores some fantastic recipes for how to make your own sloe gin from home, as well as what differentiates this kind from other gins, sloe gin cocktails and more.

Read More

Are Gin Clubs Worth It?

Gin clubs are completely worth it if you pick one that best accommodates to what you’re looking for.

There are many gin-lovers throughout the UK who love exploring new and exciting variations of this tipple. However, it can sometimes be difficult finding gins that meet your tastes and preferences without spending a fair amount of money, and unfortunately, some money on bottles you discover you don’t actually like.

Gin clubs help provide a cost-effective way to discover a whole range of different gins, providing just a taste of exciting bottles along with information on the spirits to help members to expand on their gin knowledge, and hopefully find some new-found favourites along the way!

Read More

What Does Pink Gin Taste Like?

Pink gin does not have a universal taste, meaning it can vary depending on the type you go for. While pink gins might look similar, not all of them will taste the same, the gins labelled as pink gin offering up a range of various fresh and fragrant flavours.

A lot of pink gins will have a berry component to them, infused with ingredients like strawberries, raspberries, grapefruit, rose petals and more. The infusion of these pink ingredients are what can give the gin its eye-catching pink colouring, which has helped in popularising the drink alongside the sweet and fruity flavours it can offer.

Here, ILoveGin explore this enormously popular tipple, including the types on offer, what it goes well with and more.

Read More
is gin vegan

Is Gin Vegan?

Nearly all gin is vegan – we say nearly as some gins may contain honey, while others can be produced using animal products. However, the use of animal products in gin is rare, making nearly all gins suitable for vegans.

Read More